A Brief History of Barnett Hill
Barnett Hill Hotel has a fascinating history traced back to the early 1900s. Starting out as nothing more than a wooded hilltop, Frank Cook, grandson of the famous travel agent Thomas Cook, purchased the site in 1905. The 26 acres of land that he bought made the perfect setting for the stunning Queen Anne style house that he built, costing £35,000 in total; a huge amount of money at the time.
In 1940, widowed Mrs Cook came into ownership of the property and she passed the house over to the Red Cross for use as a convalescent hospital during the war. The soldiers and civilians injured in bomb blasts were cared for and rehabilitated at Barnett Hill, with the help of St John War Organisation. In 1944, Barnett Hill became the National Training Centre of the British Red Cross after Mrs Cook handed over the deeds to the house.
By the 1970s, the Red Cross decided to allow businesses to use the venue as a conference venue to help them keep up with the high running costs of the enormous building.
In 2016, Barnett Hill Hotel was purchased by Utopia Leisure, making it the stunning country house hotel it is today.